it’s friday and i feel it in my gut

I’m in the mood to write but don’t have anything particular to say, a problem for most people, but not me, not now. After all it’s Friday and I’m in a mood. What follows is a drive by blogging, which might rankle a bit, given my stated dislike of gun ownership. But if you can’t have a wee bit of good metaphorical fun at your own expense, what good is blogging in the first place. I’m rambling. Bang. I received a new book in the mail today, Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. That’s Bryan with a y (or is it an y?). I’ve always liked photography, especially composition, but haven’t the faintest clue how to control for ISO, aperture and shutter speed to reliably produce great photos. When I’m not reading Moby Dick, which I’m already reading very slowly, I’ll be reading Understanding Exposure. And snapping frames like this one…

DSC_0191 (640x427)

…which comes from a recent excursion to Hidden Villa with my family, a green cleft in the mountains behind Foothill College in the Bay Area. I particularly like the missing spokes and how they’re hard to notice until you notice them not there. That, and I’m a sucker for white clapboard houses and pastoral settings in general, and not just in literature. I snapped this frame…

DSC_0198 (640x427)

…because who can resist the contrast of green lichen and red rust. Tell me if you can identify the farm vehicle that likely trundled about on this wheel rim. I’m thinking it’s for the front tire of a tractor, but it looks a little thick to me. And if you think you see an emerging theme here what with wagon wheels and a wheel rim, try your best to circularize the creepy, expressive beauty of this frame…

DSC_0204 (640x425)

Guy Fawkes meets the Joker meets Cirque du Soleil. Scarecrows, those great terrifying parodies of people, work for a reason. I just now consulted Ahab who agrees with me: “In the midst of the personified impersonal, a personality stands here!” I added the exclamation point because it’s called for. Bang. If you haven’t read D.G. Myers recent piece over at A Commonplace Blog, you really should. Therein you’ll find this phrase which has been ringing about my head all day: “Blogging is not merely an amateur’s medium. It is a dissent from the professionalization of literature.” I’m all a-tingle and feel as though I’ve discovered my motto. Lest the transition from scarecrows and Ahab to Myers wasn’t abrupt enough for you, let me quickly say that I’ll write about a whale’s penis on Tuesday.

8 Responses to it’s friday and i feel it in my gut

  1. Yes, that is a first-rate motto!

  2. Kerry says:

    Awesome. And the motto rocks.

    Glad to see you in the writing mood!

  3. Karyn says:

    I don’t think I would have recognised it unless someone had pointed it out, but D.G. Myers has captured it exactly. One of the reasons I chose to study Maths is because I couldn’t find anyway to reconcile my own views with the way they teach English in Unis over here, and the blogging is an extension of that, almost an insistence that a each different set of skills gives a different (and valuable) perspective. As blogging allows anyone to record their views, there is the opportunity to build up a spectrum of different viewpoints, and that must carry more information than one educated opinion, or so I like to think.

    And I am always happy to see you posting.

  4. edgarone2 says:

    Thank you for mentioning Bryan Peterson’s Understanding Exposure. I’m a beginner and I am trying to learn photography.

    I’ll look up Understanding Exposure and D.G.Myers’s article.

  5. Kat says:

    Kevin, I’ve always liked your blog, and enjoyed your “drive-by” here. And, by the way, my husband just finished Moby Dick and I had to give him two Library of America volumes of Melville for Christmas.

    Thank you for the link to D. G. Myers’ piece. I haven’t read him for a long time: he is very good, but he is so conservative and I am so radical. But I see I will have to go back there again. I love what he has to say about blogging. I have been upset by the constant attacks on bloggers from journalists in the last year, to the point that I started a new blog, mirabile dictu. :)

    • His politics are whacked, but when he confessed to hair-trigger combativeness, I couldn’t help but like him, even care for him. He’s a very fine reader and a formidable opponent in an argument. Glad your husband liked Moby Dick! I finished last night and have an Italo Calvino ready to go but could just as easily reread Moby Dick. Great stuff. Hope you’re well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

